The secret for success in life is for a man to be ready for his opportunity when it comes. ~Benjamin Disraeli

It has been a roller coaster year, aren’t they always? Many students have crossed my path, I hope they have been changed by that. Among many high points was my teaching award, to be recognized by one’s peers for working hard, for trying, is always gratifying. But I have also struggled this year to motivate and connect, to figure out how to be this thing – a teacher. As the year turns and a new leaf sits there blankly waiting I hope to do better, to be better. I resolve to be a nerd and let my enthusiasms show. I resolve to care about my students. I resolve to keep on learning, to be a student myself everyday. Mostly I resolve to be prepared, so that I can open the door to opportunity in the new year.

